Help !!! hatching goose egg !!

RIR0BCM

Songster
7 Years
Nov 7, 2014
i have goose eggs in my incubator and today i checked the eggs and was surprised to hear pipping in one of them how long will it take for it to fully hatch ??
the egg is on day 29

also this is my first time hatching goose eggs i never raised goslings before so any advice would be greatly appreciated ...
thanks !!

Last edited:
I have chinese show geese she laid one egg last she has not sat on it we not messed with it either.yesterday she laid three sat on them half them today she rolled over andcthats it what should we do never had geese before any suggestion please?

If you plan on letting her to all the work... then I would number the eggs so you know which one is the oldest and decided how many eggs you want her to have (suggest 4-8) then wait. When she decides it's time to go set you will know. She will be glued to the nest with the exception of normally 2x a day when she gets up to eat, drink, poo and stretch. How long she is off the nest during these breaks depends on the temperature and the stage of the eggs.

Temperature change can cause them to be way late. Waiting is the hard part... as anyone that has ever hatched waterfowl knows. When you get a chance between hatches calibrate your thermometers... you can find information on line for how to do it. As for breathing... if you had not opened the egg baby wouldn't be exposed to air yet. Wait... I know it's hard. Normal time line is... you hear baby, the air cell gets HUGE as baby gets into position.... then baby internally pips, then naps.... externally pips 12 to 24 hours later... then naps... hatches 12 to 24 hours after that

Candle the others... and keep an eye on them that way.