Horse people- need advice

nccatnip

Songster
12 Years
Aug 5, 2007
Piedmont area NC
After a 9 year lay off following back surgery and relocation, I am back looking for a horse. I have frequented the horse sale sites and put the word out locally but am asking you guys where you would look if in my position. I figured with the hay shortage, it should be relatively easy to find a dead broke, sound horse for trail riding. Where I lived previously I knew who not to buy from but here I know no one involved in horses. I guess I am feeling a bit vunerable and needing some advice. I have many years experience in horses but need to find that perfect fit. Oh yeah, and it sucks to have to start all over again- sold all my tack.
So do any of you guys have any recommendations?

If I were in your position I would hook up with a local barn that does good riding lessons. To some extent this will start you acquiring contacts who can suggest where to buy, and NOT buy, a horse... but more importantly it will get you back riding *before* you buy anything.

This would have two advantages: first, you need to see what your back (etc) feel like on a horse and whether you need to take that into account when choosing a horse, and second, peoples' skills change over time and you wanna have a realistic idea of how it is likely to go between you and a horse nowadays. By the way, by 'skills change over time' I do not necessarily mean you forget and get worse... sometimes after a long break from riding old bad habits disappear, or you discover you now have (for instance) more patience, or more interest in paying attention to what the horse is thinking, etcetera. But you want to spend some time finding out before you make any big purchases.

Also, if I were in your position, I would be cautious about trying to get a really great bargain... not that you can't get rooked paying 'full market price' but the unusually-bargain-priced horses make it even *more* likely
wink.png

Good luck,

Pat