I dont know what im doing wrong

Beautiful

In the Brooder
7 Years
Feb 9, 2012
McAllen Texas
I incubated duck eggs and only 2 actually hatched and are alive, the rest were full grown in the shell, one even was poking beak out but then died... .. i didnt help i just left alone. this is my first time doing this.

I cant seem to get the humdity up higher then 65.. i placed 2 bowls of water and wet wash cloths around the edges of the incubator that made it rise for a few hours but then dropped.. the heating element is at the correct degree... 98 degrees for hatching as the instructions said.... 99.5 until the last 3days. stopped turning . the were alive

just dont understand.... i also had 3 chicken eggs due 2 days ago and i know they were alive 2 days ago because the eggs were rocking. but they never hatched either. i tried to candle today but saw no movement.... i candled the 7th day and 14th.

rrrrrrrrr this is so frustating... im about to give up

Do you use warm or cold water?
Pouring warm water daily around the eggs (I use a Hova Genesis) helped me get to the 79-83% humidity.
Hope I helped. Good luck!

I am sorry about them not hatching. We had the same problem. I've only tried this trick once and I am very new to incubators. This last hatching I had better luck when placing warm wet sponges inside the incubator. If I noticed a chick having troubles after a full day of trying to hatch with no progress I placed a warm slightly damp washcloth on the egg.

Has anyone else tried these tricks?