Is Purina Flockraiser good enough for starting Buttons and Coturnix?

bluere11e

Songster
8 Years
Feb 8, 2011
West Palm Beach
Hi,
I'm new to the world of Quail and I hear conflicting information. I have 2 pair of Buttons that pretty much are spoiled rotten. they get tiny meal worms, little bugs, chopped fruit, sprouted grains and basically anything that my cockatiels drop on my 8X10 aviary floor.
I've decided that i want to get into bigger quail and have contacted a few breeders for eggs when I am ready. In the mean time, I have meaties (cornish cross) that i have raised for others in the past for food (I can't steel myself to kill anything innocent and cute yet).. I use flock raiser for those and have actually sprinkled a bit pinched and ground for my buttons.. They turn their beaks up at it.
hu.gif

But, I was told by two different quail experts, One said feed game bird starter non=medicated for the entire life of the quail and a few treats, and the other said Flockraiser from start to end..
I know that somethings work always for others that mightnot work for me, but now that i am getting into Coturnix and Bob's.. i want to do right by them
AND want to know if I can use the same feed for all breeds of quail that I have or am going to raise?

Flock raiser will be fine for later in life but for their beginnings I would go for a gamebird feed unmedicated 28-30% for up to 6 weeks.

If you check the label, it should be unmedicated. I am always the crazy person looking at the labels before they go in the car.

Quote:
Purina has both medicated and non-medicated game bird starters. You will need to see what is available in your area. If non-medicated Purina is not sold in your area, then you MIGHT be able to get them to order it for you.

It took me quite a lot of effort to get non-medicated Purina GBS here, though. (I could get other brands with a much lower protein amount, though.)

Quote: