Isbar Crosses

ChokeCherryLane

In the Brooder
Mar 21, 2022
Hello! Newbie here. I have a pair of Isbars. The Roo is Blue. The Hen is Black. She is deemed a "dud" as they say - as no green eggs - only speckled brown (which I read is a possibility for this breed). My question to those who know this breed is this: What egg colour do you think I would get if I cross my Blue Isbar Roo with A - my Blue Azure hen, B - my barred rock hen, or C - my brown laying Black Isbar hen. I wasn't planning on C - but after reading a blue egg layer must meet a brown to produce green - I wondered if I shouldn't try it. Thoughts? Input? (I would really like to add a green egg to my basket. (and what would you call the result? Would they be deemed an olive or easter egger??) Thanks so much! So much good info on this site - and I've looked everywhere for this - but couldn't find. (So thought I'd post).

If your Isbar roo is pure, and carries both blue genes, then 100% placing him over a brown layer will produce a shade of green...how dark depends on how dark the brown is. Blue shell with dark brown wash will produce olive. Light brown wash, a shade of green.

If like his sister he is not true to 2 blue shell genes, then he should have 1 blue shell genes. That will produce 50% chance of brown 50% chance of green.

If placing him over a brown layer and you repeatedly get brown, he too like his sister will have no blue shell genes.

Good luck.
LofMc

If your Isbar roo is pure, and carries both blue genes, then 100% placing him over a brown layer will produce a shade of green...how dark depends on how dark the brown is. Blue shell with dark brown wash will produce olive. Light brown wash, a shade of green.

If like his sister he is not true to 2 blue shell genes, then he should have 1 blue shell genes. That will produce 50% chance of brown 50% chance of green.

If placing him over a brown layer and you repeatedly get brown, he too like his sister will have no blue shell genes.

Good luck.