Newb needs advice on rooster agression?

Ronyon

In the Brooder
Aug 13, 2016
Cincinnati,Ohio,45205
Hi there.
I just built a coop/run to rescue a couple of chickens.
They like the new digs,but one of them turned out to be a rooster.
In my defense,I am a newb and he was/is really torn up.
So,to save her(him) from being every chickens pecking boy,we took him in.
We also took in another low pecking order chicken as company for him.
All good, and he doesn't really even crow. My daughter calls him Featherweight. The hen is Knuckles.
Featherweight seems to be bullying Knuckles.
I attributed him high jacking food or sleeping quarters as normal dominance. Our house rabbits do the same, and they're fixed.
But lately Knuckles the hen has been hiding her head behind a vertical log sitting in the corner of the coop/pen.
She can't be enticed out, but she has let my wife pick her up from there,and she has previously been supper skittish with all of us.
I suspect he is pecking at her head and neck to initiate mating,or asert dominance.

Should I get more hens? I wonder if it will still be a problem.
We can only have 4 more chickens,so there is a hard limit.
I would dump the rooster,but s/he is the reason we adopted chickens
in first place.

Is your coop and run space sufficient? The rule of thumb is 4sqft coop space and 10sqft run space per bird (and roost space 1ft per bird). Do you have a couple of feed stations? I'm not so sure that what you are describing is over-mating, since not allowing the hen to roost is not something that I would expect. Having said that, its likely that your rooster is young, and their hormone changes can make them nasty little blighters, sometimes. It might be worth having them checked over by a vet to ensure that they are both healthy. Chickens can be remorseless bullies when they recognise sings of illness.