Quiet Peafowl, Anybody interested???

bluedogsonly

Chirping
8 Years
Sep 1, 2011
Hey everybody. Heres my introduction. Im a veterinarian in eastern OK, I have worked up a procedure to lessen the volume that a rooster has when he crows. My mentor who taught me this procedure says the anatomy of pea fowl is the same as in chickens. He told me this procedure works to quieten down pea fowl. I have heard of people interested in this, some of the zoos actually.

Anyway, I have never tried this on a peacock but have been successful with roosters. So, Im posting this question to see if there is any interest in offering this procedure. If somebody is interested and willing, I would do the surgery on a bird for free to see how well it works.

Any opinions are appreciated. You can check out my decrowing thread here on BYC too.

Thanks heaps.

Dr. James

My peafowl are very quiet,,,,,from about October to March,,not a peep outta them.I actually miss the cat calls and harrassment I get during feeding-watering time now kinda like being in a dead zone.To me the noise is expected and part of Peafowl being Peafowl.Now the wifey would like your idea especially on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

I think most people who own peafowl enjoy the noise. Some neighbors do, too, and of course some don't. I, personally, can't wait until mine start yelling. :)

I love the sounds of my peafowl & my wife can imitate them which really gets'em talking....sounds like i'm in the jungle. She learned to make the sound of a hen turkey this spring, she got so good at it that one of our toms was really starting to like her....alot.

Seems like peafowl owners are pretty committed people. I didn't think most of the breeders would be interested in making them quiet. I was just getting a feel, and I'd like to try it on one someday. Thanks.

Dr. James