Taking eggs to the Philippines - am I nuts?

ozexpat

CocoBeach Farm
7 Years
Nov 18, 2012
between SoCal and The Philippines
My Coop
My Coop
I am a total noob in this world of eggs!

About me:

I am an Aussie and live between Orange County CA and Negros Occidental in the Philippines. My wife and I are in the process of adopting 2 awesome kids in the Philippines – a process that will go on for another 3 years before we can all live back in USA. Mrs Ozexpat and the kids live on our 2.5 acre coconut farm right on the beach. We have pigs, goats a pair of turkeys, some ducks and several chickens. We also have one loan guinea fowl that was given to us. My brother in law had scores of them, gave all but 4 away just before we moved there. Three then just disappeared.

The ducks are in auto mode and produce an abundance of offspring. The turkey is a hopeless mother and cant keep any of the one or two chicks she actually hatches alive past a few weeks. The chickens (currently about 9) are “native” and go broody instantly. In two years we have yet to eat an egg. Our “attrition” rate is high because any chickens that visit a neighbor get eaten by them. Add that to dogs that get in and we are lucky to maintain our flock at all. Free range has its downfalls in our neighborhood.

Along with my 15 month old son, I was at the house last week and was enjoying a sunrise coffee overlooking the ocean as well as the morning parade of mother hens with their 2 or 3 chicks each go past the front of the house. Lorenzo greeted the Tom turkey and laughed. It was a wonderful sight. The hen turkey was brooding and sitting on a couple of eggs. I know she will fail again. Its time to remove some of the “Mother Nature” out of my quest for fresh eggs and increasing our flock.