Throw Back in Cornish Cross Meat Birds

MorganC

Chirping
9 Years
May 31, 2014
Idaho
Hey All,

Wanted to show this with you. I have been raising Cornish Cross birds for the past five years and have never had this appear before in my flock. I know it's a throw back from something, what, I don't know exactly what. But, here's some pics. You can see the rust kinda coloring. It's not from anything in their pen, and it's only on this one cockerel, one out of 84. Fascinating. :)

That is called red leakage, and can occur in white birds. The genes for white mask whatever color genes the bird carries, as opposed to replacing them. So they are actually a colored bird that usually does not exhibit their color.

Hey All,

Wanted to show this with you. I have been raising Cornish Cross birds for the past five years and have never had this appear before in my flock. I know it's a throw back from something, what, I don't know exactly what. But, here's some pics. You can see the rust kinda coloring. It's not from anything in their pen, and it's only on this one cockerel, one out of 84. Fascinating. :)