Winterizing a coop

SheptheRooster

In the Brooder
Aug 22, 2016
Grenfell, sk
This is my first year with chickens and living up north in Saskatchewan I know the winters can get mighty cold. We have a coop that is insulated and it seems to seal up well. Any advice or helpful hints on keeping things working properly through these cold months?

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk

This is my first year with chickens and living up north in Saskatchewan I know the winters can get mighty cold. We have a coop that is insulated and it seems to seal up well. Any advice or helpful hints on keeping things working properly through these cold months?

'Sealed up' is not what you want.......good ventilation is paramount.

You'll enjoy a heated waterer....https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/aarts-heated-waterer-with-horizontal-nipples

Last edited:
Any advice or helpful hints on keeping things working properly through these cold months?
I live in Canada as well New Brunswick to be more precise.

I am subject to -40º weather. I have been keeping chickens and birds for decades.

Your best practice I find is to not be too concerned about winterizing or heating your coop to help your birds combat the cold.

Predator proofing "ABSOLUTELY".

Your efforts should be spent in winterizing your birds and letting them acclimatize to their surroundings.
This is done by feeding them whole corn as an added supplement in a separate feeder.

The extra nourishment is more then adequate to bring them through the
"COLDEST" winter.

Do keep an eye open for birds that maybe not be adapting well to the new menu and may be at the lower end of the pecking order they can sometimes run into problems and may need extra TLC.

That being said in a perfect world the flock will flourish and do just fine .

I do not add any extra heat or lighting.
Egg production does slack off but I have more than enough eggs for the table all winter long (24 hens).