All About Chicken Combs Single Pea Rose V Shaped Etc

Anatomy and Function Big, small, rounded, straight, wobbly, pointy, jagged... All chickens have a comb, but all combs are not the same.
By The Chicken Lady · Jan 11, 2012 · ·
Rating:
2.92857/5,
  1. AMERAUCANAS4REAL
    "Examples would help, but very informative!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 3, 2019
  2. N F C
    "Good Narrative, Lacks Pictures"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
  3. Soon2BChixMom
    "Very descriptive article on chicken combs!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 17, 2018
    This is a well written article with excellent descriptions regarding the various types of chicken combs. Each comb description has its own section and the article is visually pleasing in the written form. I love the illustration you added. The person who drew that is very talented.
    While I do agree with other reviewers that this article would be fantastic if actual photos of each type of comb were included, I don't agree with the 2 star ratings as this article is one of the best I've read. Before the internet we often had to rely on descriptions to interpret and visualize context. I have many interpretive nature books that use descriptions to identify the subject (plants, flowers, birds, etc) and once in awhile there is a drawn illustration to accommodate the description - the format of this article is very similar to that style.
  4. Anonymous
    "Maybe some real examples??"
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
  5. RJGM
    "Interesting"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 30, 2018
    Very interesting article
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  6. HuffleClaw
    "I love this!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 14, 2018
    Very helpful!
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  7. True Patriot
    "Nice outline"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I found the layout and information very interesting. The descriptions of the different types is good. I did feel like I was waiting for more at the end though. Example pictures with the descriptions of the types would be a great addition. Overall, nice article. Thanks.
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  8. imneva
    "Could use actual photos"
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    i am a visual learner. So lack of actual photos threw me off
    The Phantom likes this.
  9. EggWalrus
    "Could use some real pictures of actual combs"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    This is probably gonna get me banned but here goes,
    Why would any of the Mods drag up a pretty near useless article from a 10 year member that doesn't hardly ever post? This is from 2012, and hasn't been improved upon by the original poster (or anyone else) and doesn't seem that it ever will be. I understand that the ancients are due respect, but only where respect is due. If it had been fixed way back in 2012 or even 2013 I could see including it in this great knowledge base.
    I doubt this article was written by the original Chicken Lady, who is most knowledgable. After reading many of her articles I can't understand why, if she actually wrote this, is unable to correct or improve upon this article.
    To all my friends I say good bye. After speaking this truth, you probably will never get to hear from me again after being banned.
    :love:thumbsup:highfive:
    The Phantom likes this.
  10. Anonymous
    "Good start, needs work"
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    The information in the table is really hard to read in mobile view. I would also like to see information about comb faults such as inverted comb, which is a recessive trait seen in pea, rose and sometimes single comb breeds.
    The Phantom likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: