Sandyks Chicken Coop

By SandyK · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated Apr 23, 2018 · ·
Tags:
Rating:
4.91667/5,
  1. kschaff1
    "Beautiful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 19, 2019 at 12:51 PM
    I think I want to live there! Love seeing the step by step instructions :D
  2. MotherOfChickens
    "Wow!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 16, 2019
    What an amazing place you have!
  3. jtn42248
    "Beautiful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 16, 2019
    Incredible build, beautiful coop, great article...your DH must be a saint. If you ever want to rent that coop out to a human keep me in mind.
  4. FlyWheel
    "You should have been an author"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 15, 2019
    That is easily the best written coop build I have ever seen (DID your chickens ever get 8' tall?)!
    abcn123s likes this.
  5. twigcrafter
    "lovely story"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 15, 2019
    I'm so glad you wrote this . You and your husbands journey brightened my day.
  6. Brians Bantys
    "Wow a great coop, good job"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 14, 2019
  7. donbadsha
    "Awesome"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 13, 2019
  8. room onthebroom
    "A most enjoyable read!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 11, 2019
    Without doubt the nicest coop (inside & out) that I've ever seen. DH must love the woman very much! I'm not sure which aspect is my favorite part. The fish scales, the porch, the vintage nesting boxes & the rooster statues standing guard outside the door, are all really beautiful touches. Your writing style was catchy & easy to read. 5 star article all the way around. :bow
  9. Chick-N-Fun
    "What an amazing coop!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
    Can I move in????? Lovely job!
    DragonParadigm and mumofsix like this.
  10. Shadrach
    "Way over the top but absolutley lovely."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 8, 2019
    A great home for your chickens and a decent sized run. That was a lot of work.
    I have a couple of comments. The mesh on the run isn't safe enough. A weasel will get through that weasily.:p Half inch squares; it's ugly I know, but it's safe. A hardware cloth skirt around the outside perimeter of the run fence would also be a good idea.
    If I was to go to those lengths I would do the interior walls with plywood sheeting; less gaps for mites to hide in and easier to clean for those projectile poops. No I don't know how they get poop in all the places they do.:lol:
    Lose the candle if thats what it is. The risk of fire just isn't worth it.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: