Wichita Cabin Coop

A simple, secure, easy-to-use home for any small backyard flock.
By baldessariclan · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated Nov 30, 2018 · ·
Tags:
Rating:
5/5,
  1. SJMike
    "What a great / complete article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 13, 2019
    You've really included everything in this article... from the build pics to the computer generated plans, ongoing maintenance & cleaning, updates & ideas on what you'd do differently. What an informative article. Great job!
  2. SapperSix2019
    "Great small coop"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2019
    I just LOVE this coop idea! You wrote a super article with lots of great pictures. If I could give you 6 stars I would. Did you ever come up with a estimate of the cost to build material wise? I'm so happy seeing the chicken hugs, reminds me of our grandson. Thank you again for the great article.
  3. Chickologist
    "Awesome coop!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2019
    This is a super cool coop design, and i love how it shows you how to build it step to step and i love the chicks growing up at the end! super nice coop and because its a coop you have to build you can make the coop bigger or smaller if you want! super cool!
  4. HappyHeritageHens
    "Love this design"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2019
    I loved this design so much that I bought the plans and built it for myself. With little experience in Sketchup, I managed to print some views for my handyman. he was very resourceful and took it from there. Here's my coop
  5. Celticdragonfly
    "So thorough"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 3, 2019
    This is a great well written coop article. I'd like to see the bit about how many chickens it's designed for up top. The materials list and all the diagrams are great! And I enjoyed the time-lapse video of the construction, with the cheerful "you could do this!" music, and the wandering big blue ball.

    I like the windows you added - wondering if those were built from scratch or premade. I paid to have a coop built for us, but I'm thinking it needs more windows and wondering how best to go about it.

    The windbreak for snow looks useful for northern people.

    I'm totally not a handyman type, and I think I made the best decision to pay coop builders - but this article almost makes me believe I could do it - and if I ever did my own, I'd want to work from an article like this.
  6. cndlou
    "Nice coop!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 20, 2019
    Nice coop for free ranging girls!!
  7. lutherpug
    "The gold standard"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 14, 2019
  8. terriminx
    "Love it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 20, 2019
    I need to extend my present coop but on seeing this I am now going to make from scratch. Your detail is top notch and easy to follow. Excellent construction and tutorial. Thank-you
  9. Muscovy-palooza
    "Wonderful coop with great how-to detail"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    This article leaves nothing out. The details of how they did things from attaching the ramp to making the water heater. The pictures are great quality and give the feeling that you have just toured their coop in person. Magazine worthy article!
  10. HennyPenny2019
    "Great coop plan"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    Love the step by step instructions, lots of good hints and ideas. It was delightful to see your
    youngest daughter grow into her love for the chickens. All four of your daughters are beautiful
    and I’m sure you are very proud of the young women they are becoming.
    Oldspice likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: