Unfortunately, I think I have to cull my entire flock

Mortimer

In the Brooder
11 Years
May 6, 2008
SW of Wichita, KS
Hello all, hoping to get some advice from those of you with more experience than I . . . this is my first year raising chickens! This form us so full of knowledge surely someone can help . . . so, on with the story . . . sorry if I'm a bit long-winded

I recently purchased 10 RIR hens from a local farm to add to my existing flock of 11 Delawares and 8 RIR/BR's.

I kept the new 10 sectioned off from the others as I've read is proper to do when introducing new birds. They could visually see each other but shared no water or food. Kept them in the separate pen for just over 3 weeks and let them out when the weather got nice. All seemed well.

A few days after integrating the new 10 I noticed one of my existing RIR's, a younger pullet (~4 mos) was sneezing and shaking its head alot. The next day it was huddled up in some hay on the floor of the coop, with raspy/gurgling breathing and a huge amount of snot around its beak. It was barely hanging on. This was on Sunday morning. I removed from the coop, put it out of its misery and threw in the trash, hoping I would be keeping the others from getting whatever illness it had.

It's now Wednesday and most of the rest of my flock are showing similar symptoms in various severities:

Sneezing/shaking head alot
Lots of snot/drainage
Raspy/gurgling breathing
Bubbly mucus in eyes
Some have one eye shut (no visible swelling though)
Mouth always open with neck extended
Blood/snot spots on back, where they wipe their beaks, also some blood spots on the walls of coop & waterer

None of the new 10 have shown any symptoms . . . only my existing flock.