1" by 1" wire for rabbits?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by PrinceSandwich, Nov 5, 2010.

1. PrinceSandwich

PrinceSandwich Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2009
    Alberta, Canada
    I was given a rabbit cage that has a wire floor with 1" by 1" spacing. I was also given a part roll of 1" by 1" welded wire ( the same stuff thats on the cage). I know most people say you should use 1" by 1/2" but would this wire work okay.

2. BobwhiteQuailLover

BobwhiteQuailLover Country Girl[IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.

Sep 25, 2010
    Wisconsin
    I think that would be fine.
    BUT I AM NOT AN EXPERT AT ALL. [​IMG]

3. mhwc56

mhwc56 Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:we have ALWAYS used 1/2 X1/2 hardware cloth on the bottom of our rabbit hutches.We used 1" on the sides/front/back...critters will pull small bunny feet through 1" bottoms.Most of the people i've known who raised rabbits used 1/2" ...we raised and showed rabbits for years so i'm not talking just a handful of people ...
    just my 2 cents...[​IMG]

4. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm

Do not use that. You will find your rabbit one day with a broken leg.

5. RabbitMage

RabbitMage Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2009
    I agree, 1"x1" wire is too big. Even if you have a larger rabbit that won't put their feet through it, the more open wire gives their feet less support, and might lead to sore hocks.

All of my cages use 1/2"x1" welded wire on the floor.

6. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008
    Fewer or large wires are also more likely to cause hock sores than 1/2" finer wire.

7. NellaBean

NellaBean Graceland Farms

Mar 4, 2009
    Broodyland, TN
    My Coop
    I would add a layer of 1/2"x1/2" hardware cloth over it. I use 1" by 1" wire for my "transport" cages and always used the 1/2" hardware cloth for the flooring. Can't imagine expecting them to stand on it. Maybe it was meant to be set on the ground or on a solid surface?

8. sourland