1 hen

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by riley4785, Aug 26, 2013.

1. riley4785

riley4785 New Egg

Aug 26, 2013
    Hi! I'm brand new to raising chickens. I got my first hens yesterday. I had my hen house all set up and was really excited about them but 2 of the 3 my hens the kids and I got are now dead. I'm not sure why. I have a small coop (eglu classic) set up in the shade next to my house. My girlfriend sent me a chicken starter kit so I thought I knew what they needed. They've got water, food, shelter and are out of the sun and behind a privacy fence so my cat and dogs can't get them but now I've lost 2 of them. They were fine when I let them out into their run this morning and fine around 10am when my 4 year old went out to watch them, but by 2pm 2 of my hens were dead in their nesting box. I don't know what went wrong. I purchased 3 year old salmon faverolles from a local breeder. My girlfriend thinks it might be a combination of the heat, stress of moving and my dogs might have scared them into heart attacks. So far the dogs haven't barked at the hens but they do bark at the neighbor dogs so it is a possibility. My girlfriend is worried my remaining hen will be lonely. I'm afraid to add more in case I'm doing something horribly wrong and don't know it. What do I do now? Should I hang onto her and see if she does ok? Should I get her a friend? Do I give her away and either forget raising chickens or start over again? This was not the start to raising hens I was expecting....

2. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

You should get your hen a companion, chickens can die from loneliness.

3. Russman

Russman New Egg

Jul 16, 2013
    Alabama