1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

1 st egg!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 7chickininas, Sep 6, 2007.

1. 7chickininas

7chickininas Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2007
    Idaho
    Hi everybody! I'm new here. [​IMG] [​IMG] I'm also new to raising chickens. I've been lurking around the BYC forum since I got my chickens on May 25. Then I decided to buy 2 more chickens on June 28. The two were already 3 1/2 months old. So I've been waiting patiently for Oprah the black orphinton and Lacey the SLW to lay now. So, I just wanted to share my excitement [​IMG]!!!! I got home from work, and as usual, I went to the coop to check for eggs. What do you know, there was this little tiny egg in the nest box. Placing a golf ball in the nest box does work! Oprah layed it for sure. She has been squating and making all kinds of noise for the last 2 weeks. I will post a picture later. Just need to figure out how to do it.

2. siz8003

siz8003 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 31, 2007
    Fitz.,NH
    cool it is fun to go find eggs I love it Seems like im in the coop more than my own house! [​IMG]

3. wallace

wallace Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2007
    We had our first egg two days ago, and had another one yesterday. And now I'm dying all day to go home and check the egg box.

4. jenichick

jenichick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2007
    NC
    Congrats!! I had my first egg day before yesterday, a little tiny cream colored one. Then yesterday when I got home I had two large cream colored ones. I too, can't wait to get home to see what we have in the boxes!!!!

Oh, and Welcome to the best forum on the internet!!

5. Rocket Raley

Rocket Raley Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2007