10 chickens only four eggs a day

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kathy a, Aug 1, 2013.

1. kathy a

kathy a New Egg

Aug 1, 2013
    I am new to backyard chickens. My 10 girls were an Easter present from my husband. I am loving it and this site! Here's my question. I have 5 each of leghorns and what the tractor store said were red sex-links and they have a coop and pen but 5 are pretty committed to free ranging (1 red and 4 whites are usual culprits and leave the pen. They have started to lay, and I have collected 4 eggs a day for about 2 weeks now from the nesting boxes in the coop and hard as I've looked I haven't found any in the yard. Should I look harder or do you think some are not laying yet?

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] It is possible that some of them are not laying yet and also the ones that are laying won't lay frequently at first. It could take them anywhere from 2-6 weeks to start laying regularly.

3. DDNONIN2016

DDNONIN2016 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2012
    SW Ohio
    Hello and welcome.....so glad you joined BYC

My guess is it wont be long and you will be rolling in the eggs :)

4. Manningjw

Manningjw Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

If they just started laying 2 weeks ago, hold out a while before searching high and low for hidden nests. Some of our chickens started laying 1-2 months after our first egg and all of them had the same hatch date.

Assuming you have food and water in the coop, you could try keeping them locked in the coop until noon or 2 in the afternoon and see if you do get more eggs in the nest boxes.

5. kathy a

kathy a New Egg

Aug 1, 2013