1st time Broody Hen's EXTENDED(!!) hatch!

Goldwingnut

In the Brooder
Sep 11, 2023
I have an unusually long hatch going on. This little gal started her project with three eggs in the clutch. The first one hatched on Labor Day and the second one nine days later.

Yes that's right. 9 days.

When I would check in on her, and/or handle her several days in, I found an extra (4th) egg that was apparently hers, judging by the color. Then one of my other hens apparently contributed to the clutch, so 5 eggs in total. Before it was all said and done there were 13 eggs she was sitting on.:eek: I guess it was a community project.

I should have marked them in the beginning but it didn't occur to me I needed to do that. I'm a real newbie to this game.

Well, I want to pull the plug on this project, because at this point there could be no viable eggs in her nest. I don't want to aggravate her or make her think I'm the enemy, but I'm not quite sure what to do.

How should I handle this?

I currently have her in the Witness Protection Program with her two chicks in her very own Second Story Private Nursery Condo, located in the "apartment" above my dog's Kennel in the garage. It's just an extra wire dog kennel, with some makeshift cardboard walls.

I moved her and the chicks out of her nesting box when it became apparent that every time she would leave to get a drink, the other hens would attack her. It breaks my heart to see that, and I don't know why they're doing it.

My 8 bird flock (7 +1) sleeps in a 6x10 Suskovich style chicken tractor at night, and I let them go out part of the day, most days.

Last edited:
Well, I want to pull the plug on this project, because at this point there could be no viable eggs in her nest. I don't want to aggravate her or make her think I'm the enemy, but I'm not quite sure what to do.

How should I handle this?