1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

2 girls with something wrong with their vent in the same day! Please Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kgreen, Nov 2, 2014.

1. kgreen

kgreen New Egg

Nov 1, 2014
    I'm very new to raising chickens. I am a first time chicken owner. My girls are about 7 months old. About 3 days ago, I was watching them run around, and noticed that two of them were being pecked at by the others. They were missing feathers around their vents and right above the vent was some sort of bloody protrusion. I isolated both of them each in their own separate crate. The two girls seem to still be full of energy and are still laying eggs, although the eggs now seem to have a chalky feel to the touch. They are eating and drinking, but have also lost a lot of weight. I was not sure how to treat them but a feed store told me to try putting preparation H on. I have been giving them warm baths as well. It almost looks like it is oozing as well, on one of them. Could it be vent gleet? Can anyone help me? I have posted some graphic photos of each of them.The first picture was on the first day, the second, and third picture are from the day after.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio