4 hours and no progress

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Lorrie77, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Lorrie77

Lorrie77 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011
    This is my first time incubating eggs and I have just 1 egg that pipped at about 4:30 today.
    About an hour later there was a much bigger crack but nothing since then. Is this normal
    or is something wrong? My humidity has been at 65-70% for 3 days but just recently dropped
    to 63% I am not sure if I should open the bator to add water or leave it alone. Anyone who
    can help it would be much appreciated [​IMG]

2. clairabean

clairabean Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Kootenays of BC!
    [​IMG] SIT ON YOUR HANDS!!

Do not open the bator. Do not do it. Expect to wake up to a chick, probably not sooner. Some are really quick, others are slower. In my experience the first is always the slowest. Sometimes it can pip the first, but fully hatch third or fourth. After a few start chirping, things move along faster.

Do not open your bator!

3. Lorrie77

Lorrie77 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011
    Thanks for the advice, I am sitting on my hands [​IMG]
    I cant wait, forget sleeping [​IMG]

4. eggdd

eggdd Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2011
    i just had chicks that took about 24 hours to finish hatching after they'd pipped. everything was fine.

calm down. don't freak. just enjoy the show - - have your camera ready!

5. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    Quote:Ditto...

6. clairabean

clairabean Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Kootenays of BC!
    Anything??

[​IMG]

7. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    As my husband says "back away from the bator".....I know it's hard, I'm going through temptation to open that door!

8. Jeffross1968

Jeffross1968 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    Smoky Mountains