5 Day old chick fine then 1.5hours later found laying face down in dirt

Coco_lafonte

In the Brooder
Jun 2, 2022
Hi! I’m new to having baby chicks. My 2 favorelles went broody. The first one to go broody I put 4 fertilized eggs under, the second one went broody 18 days in. 3 out of 4 eggs hatched. The hens are co-mothering. So.. Yesterday, Saturday 6/17/23 The chicks were in the enclosed run with both moms, all 3 chicks were fine.. about 1.5 hours later one of the chicks was laying face down on the ground. I thought it was dead! It jumped up started running, the mom (1st hen Henrietta who went broody) started pecking pretty hard at the chick! I picked up the chick brought it in washed it up, the eyes were closed and wasn’t looking well! Not sure what to do, or how to help the chick, the chick today looked a little better, but just kept chirping. The two non broody hens (barred rocks) went after the chick tonight in the coop! Thank you for all the advice in advance 70871190819__BF16A02B-0141-4E72-ACB8-B7ED2E68B0CB.jpeg Right after I found him/her. (Before the bath)
IMG_3870.jpeg
After the bath IMG_3878.jpeg After the bath IMG_3883.jpeg IMG_3899.png Today

Last edited:
Clean her wounds and eye with saline (open the eye and flush out any dirt/debris) then apply Original Neosporin or Terramycin eye ointment into the eye and on the facial wounds.

Work on getting the chick hydrated. If you have Poultry Nutri-Drench give her 2-3 drops twice a day. If not, then electrolytes or a few drops of sugar water periodically along with fresh water.
Once hydrated, offer some wet chick starter.
Keep the chick warm. Likely you will need to brood this one for several days on your own and it may prove difficult to integrate her back with the others.

Sometimes Co-Brooding doesn't always work out very well especially if they are all enclosed with the main flock too. Broodies can get excited, non-broodies can too - chicks get trampled, pecked, hurt or killed.