9 w/o NHRs "shark fin" look

U_Stormcrow

Crossing the Road
Jun 7, 2020
North FL Panhandle Region / Wiregrass
Ok, this is my first time, and its probably nothing, but as I was putting the flock in from free ranging for the night, I noticed three of my flock - 9 week old New Hampshire reds - each had a vaguely shark-fin like (or mohawk, if you prefer) collection of a few feathers starting to sticking up in the middle of their back, centered over the spine, just where the tail starts to clearly demarcate from the body. I picked two up, and checked carefully. No apparent injuries, no ticks, no bug bites, no bony protuberances, nothing clearly wrong - and the chickies are otherwise behaving normally - they just look like some feathered finned dinosaur.

Just a few feathers, distinct "crest" or "fin" on the back. No missing feathers, no loss of sheen on the coat, no other visual issues.

Or do I simply call them "Alfalfa" for a while?

If no one has ideas, I'll try to get a picture in the AM light - it was too dark tonight to get a good shot, and I didn't have my phone with me.

Last edited:
If you can get some photos that may be helpful.

Where did the chickens come from?

From your description I would suspect you are talking about the "Cushion" of the chicken.
I have one New Hampshire (Hatchery quality) that has a fairly pronounced cushion, another that you can tell it's not "quite right" too. I also have 1 "Heritage" German New Hampshire that is a little closer to "conformity" but still has a more pronounced cushion than she should.

I don't really remember seeing it being discussed about New Hampshires but it does seem to be a "problem" (not APA Standard) in Barred Plymouth Rocks (and I suspect many other breeds as well)
https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/is-this-a-show-quality-barred-rock-hen.939073/