A little help please

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Mr Andersson, Jun 2, 2012.

1. Mr Andersson

Mr Andersson In the Brooder

Jun 2, 2012
    Ok, i'm new to ducks. I got 8 muscovy ducklings, one week old, two days ago. Currently they are in a xl cat carrier, inside my chicken coop with 5 chicken hens. I bought duck starter, and have a small waterer, n small feeder. I cleaned out the carrier,last night, and gave them fresh water, as I plan on doing nightly. Question is, how long should I keep em seperated from the hens? The chicken hens are 3 yrs old, and they free range during daylight hours. I'm currently using a heat lamp for the ducklings. The coop is 6' x 6', with a 6' x 12' outdoor caged area. When can the ducklings freerange? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life

When you say hens do you mean chicken or duck? some people call ducks hens too. you say you got them 1week 2 days ago is that how old they are?

3. Mr Andersson

Jun 2, 2012
    Yes, they are one week, and two days old now. Sorry for the misunderstanding, the "hens" are chickens! I have 3 different varities, I had more, but coons or fox took quite a few.

4. Mr Andersson

Jun 2, 2012
    Should I let the ducklings out in the coop, and lock out the chickens?

5. Miss Lydia

Sounds like they may be a bit crowded. but i would be very leary of letting ducklings that age alone with adult chickens. can you section of part of the coop so the duckling have a bit more space but are still safe from the hens? They will still need heat but if you could put it in a corner of their area then that could be their sleeping part and the rest could be for moving around. They grow so fast. It probably wouldn't be safe for your hens to be locked out either. maybe some chicken wire down the middle temporary till they can better cope with the hens.

6. Mr Andersson

Jun 2, 2012
    Thank you, Miss Lydia!

7. fifenashia