1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

A lurker for over three years coming out!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by r4eboxer, Oct 28, 2011.

1. r4eboxer

r4eboxer Crooked Creek Poultry

Sep 20, 2011
    Fairmont
    Hello all,
    I have been lurking, learning, drooling, laughing, and crying on this site for three years. I started learning about the different breeds and getting my lists together for when I finally became a chicken mamma. Well in August I became the proud momma to 3 RIR, 3 EE, 3 PR hens and 1 PR rooster.

I am the wife of one of the best hard working men on the planet , mother to 4 boys age 24, 21, 16 and 11, 2 Lhasa Apso lap dogs, 3 bunnies, 6 fish, 1 guinea pig, 7 hens and a goat that thinks she is a dog. I work full time as a Database Manager and full time taxi driver to my two younger boys. Oh I put in two large gardens and can most of our veggies.

We are just beginning to homestead on 30 acres of land with a large pond, a creek running through the south end of the property and a stream going from the top of the north hill into the larger creek at the bottom. I feel so lucky to have this land and want to do the best with it. This spring we are really going to step up the homesteading with the addition of a dairy cow, 2 pigs (1 for the freezer and 1 to breed) at least 2 additional goats and possibly a few sheep. I will order turkey pullets as soon as they are available and geese too.