Advice please - very underweight Pekin hen, no clear cause!

JessTas

In the Brooder
Jun 15, 2022
Hi lovely poultry folk,

I've got a tough one for you all. I've been caring for chooks for 20 years and I've dealt with all sorts of illnesses with rescues and for friends, but I'm stumped this time...

Pineapple (pekin bantam) was given to me in a group of elderly hens that were otherwise going to get the chop. She was small and light, looked like she was too young to lay by the paleness of her face and her small comb and wattles. She still cheeped like a chick sometimes. She was fully feathered and appeared mature otherwise, though small.

I couldn't find anything wrong with her, no lumps or bumps, healthy eyes, beak and nares, poos seem normal... I gave her extra feeds with Anitone and bird probiotics, wormed her, but a year later she is still small and thin. She enjoys food, but doesn't seem to get energy from it well, or perhaps she can't store fat normally? I have wondered if her liver is not functioning correctly.

Six weeks ago she got a canker or abscess in her mouth, (cheesy yellow plug) and I took her to the vet, who treated her with antibiotics for possible infection and Flagyl for the possible trich. The swab came back showing lots of bacteria, mainly strep and staph, and some large cells but no visible flagella. Vet didn't rule out trich and we treated with both meds twice daily for ten days.

She responded well to the meds, her mouth cleared up and for the next few weeks she had more colour and energy. The rooster even began to mate with her, much to her surprise and dismay.

Suddenly this week Pineapple seems really run down, extra thin, extra pale and if she's not eating she's asleep. She's always been low energy and thin. I have assumed she had a congenital issue from genetics or some deficiency as a chick.