Am I losing birds to a predator?

rod5591

Songster
6 Years
Oct 15, 2017
Cookeville TN
I've been keeping chickens for 3 years now. In that time, I've never lost a bird to any predator. My set up is unique in that I have a large run about 6,000 square feet enclosed with 6 feet high field fence, set in a larger yard surrounded by a 5 foot chain link fence. The Chain link fence is surrounded on two sides by barb wire fence a foot away. So my birds are in a fence surrounded by a fence surrounded by a fence. In the middle of their enclosure is a 40 ft high Douglas Fir tree. There is also 2 small chicken houses good for 3 or 4 birds, 1 medium chicken house good for maybe 7-8 birds, and one large shed with 2x4 perches set up that will fir about 20 birds. My older hens sleep in the various hen houses, the hens with clipped wings sleep in the shed, and the younger birds the single rooster roost in the Douglas Fir.