Antibiotics for ducks

Maryam.

Songster
Dec 22, 2017
Hi,
My ducks have been at a friend's house for a few weeks when i brought them back home one of them had a small bumble on her foot. I showed the picture of it to a vet ,he prescribed tetracycline ointment once a day.
On the other hand she had some signs of respiratory infection so i gave her doxycycline a month ago for 7days by doctor's order.
Again she's showing the same(ish) signs and i told that vet he prescribed doxycycline for her again!
I wanted to ask, Isn't using two antibiotics together bad for her health? I mean doxy and tetracycline are both strong, don't they endanger my duck's health?
Also I would like to hear some bumblefoot advice cause this is my first time facing it. Thanks.
(She's also a layer.)

I mean doxy and tetracycline are both strong, don't they endanger my duck's health?
If you're talking about giving doxycycline pills orally, or powder in the water, *and* tetracycline topical ointment, that is perfectly safe.

Last edited:
If you're talking about giving doxycycline pills or powder in the water, and tetracycline topical ointment, that is perfectly safe.
Thank you for your reply. It's a doxycycline syrup 5drops a day.
Is repeating the same antibiotics after just a month safe ? Doesn't it weaken her immune system?

Thank you for your reply. It's a doxycycline syrup 5drops a day.
Also is repeating the same antibiotics after just a month safe ? Doesn't it weaken her immune system?
Can you post a picture of your antibiotic syrup that shows the ingredients and the dosing directions?

Can you post a picture of your antibiotic syrup that shows the ingredients and the dosing directions?
I would but it's not written in english, so i have to translate it.
On the syrup it is written doxycycline, 3 or 4 drops directly to the mouth or 1teaspoon in 2Li of water. 7days sick duck,1day to the healthy one.