1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Any help or tips would be great!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by OkieLady, Mar 21, 2013.

1. OkieLady

OkieLady New Egg

Mar 20, 2013
    claremore, Oklahoma
    HELLLLPPP!!! [​IMG]
    so i am brand new to having chickens. i am actually getting my first two on monday [​IMG], i think they are silver laced wyandotte 6month olds.I have no idea how much to feed them or how often. and i would love to have some advice on making your own feed vs. just buying feed! anyway any advice would be great =)

2. brahmabreeder

brahmabreeder Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    [​IMG] I have been feeding mine 20% layer feed 24/7

3. Mehjr10

Mehjr10 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2012
    Moscow, TN
    Welcome to BYC and I feed mine free choice layer pellets, and oyster shell. I throw out scratch grain in the evening when collecting eggs for the next morning. Or fill up the drop feeder with scratch if I am going to be away for a day or two.

Have Fun with your Girls.

4. UnlabeledMama

UnlabeledMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2012
    Western North Carolina
    I give mine laying crumbles (bought at the feed store) and scraps from our kitchen . I scrap any food of plates, cooking waste, etc into a bucket and bring it out in the morning. They love it! They are especially fond of pasta and ham. I also give them scratch as a treat when it's cold.

5. UnlabeledMama

UnlabeledMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2012
    Western North Carolina
    Oh, and about growing food for them - I'm going to try this this year. I am planting alfalfa, oats, millet, chickweed and purslane for the chickens to try.

6. jeepgirl13

jeepgirl13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2013
    Arizona