Argh! Introducing a new flock to another or Am I crazy?

Chickenmagnet

In the Brooder
11 Years
Jun 11, 2008
Seattle, WA
Newbie here city kid doing this chicken thang. Hi Everybody

After having my new RIR (6) established in their new digs for a month.
2 are 1 year old the others are 6month old pullets.

I got the chicken craze confidence of 'get more ladies'

So, I went on Craigslist....and went to see a flock of 2 Ameraucana, 1 silver Wyandotte, 2 Partridge rocks. These ladies where in a small small coop with barley any run. If you laid an old timey piano on its back...that was the size of what they lived in.
The guy said his kids where bored with the birds so they where getting rid of them.
Real backyard birds...with NOT enough room. He says they where 3 years old. 5 eggs a week.

Now I cooped them for 3 days as instructed by my chicken expert. So, they get acclimated to the new home then find a safe place in the coop. Basically so they know where they live.

Well, after the first day I noticed how mean the new birds where to each other. The Partridge rocks peck on the silver...the Amera's on the rocks and the silver. I thought it was stress of the new place then not having enough room. I thought the new larger space would cure this.

So, we're on day 5. The new five after opening up their end of the coop to the rest of the birds and the run...they wont go outside. They checked the other end of the coop...but, they pretty much huddle in the corner when I go to the coop. When I'm inside they the scratch. But, when I leave or come back they huddle.

In trying to encourage the others to run the yard. I put two threw the hen door. I go to the run...both the Amera's are getting beat up. Pecking at their heads. Blood and feathers. The Amera's where making submissive gestures but, the RIR didnt care they kept going at them.
I naturally intervened. I also noticed the Amera's have crusted poo on their heinies. Otherwise they are gorgeous birds. And soft soft feathers.