1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Babies

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by fairys84, Sep 1, 2013.

1. fairys84

fairys84 New Egg

Sep 1, 2013
    Washington
    I have a question that might seem like a no brainer for most of u but for me well I'm new at this so I need a little help!! I have 2 baby chicks that just hatched and well I didn't think they where going to surprise lol. They r so cute but I have no feed for them and I took them and put them in a box with a heat lamp I am going to boil a egg and give them the yolk intel I can get to a store tomorrow.as i think one baby is a day old. Should I have taken them away from there mom the reason I ask is because I had first look earlier there where three then when I went back one was dead. I never touched them intel I seen one dead I thought mom maybe squashed it do they do this?? Should I worry??

2. bugglesmommy

bugglesmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

It is completely possible the chick was accidentally squished. It unfortunately happens sometimes. Chicks do not need to eat for 2-3 days after hatching and are perfectly fine on the absorbed yolk sack alone. No need to panic about feeding them, just make sure you get chick starter.

[​IMG] on the heat lamp. Make sure they have an area not covered by the lamp so they do not overheat. Chicks straining away from the light are too hot, huddled up are too cold.

When you provide water, you should put aquarium pebbles or the likes to prevent them from drowning. Chicks can drown in remarkably shallow water.

3. fairys84

fairys84 New Egg

Sep 1, 2013
    Washington
    Thank u I was kind of freaking out earlier lol. This helps a lot

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture