baby chicks in winter

Goldmama

In the Brooder
Jan 2, 2019
Anchorage, Alaska
I'm relatively new to chickens. I got baby chicks in April 2018. After that, I picked up 2 other flocks for free & another rooster w/ his 4 baby chicks & a stray. So I've raised chicks in spring & fall, but now it's winter. I had 2 broody hens so I collected eggs & put them under the hens. Don't worry I put them under on the same day, not 3 a day. 1 clutch should be pipped on Sat & the other on the 10th. I will move mamas out of the unheated barn & coop area when they pip out...OR SHOULD I MOVE THEM OUT THE DAY BEFORE THEY PIP THROUGH? They are being moved to our heated garage with the mamas & I have one heat plate brooder....
DO I NEED TO USE THE HEAT PLATE BROODER IF THE CHICKS ARE IN WITH THE MAMAS?
SHOULD I KEEP THE MAMAS IN WITH THE CHICKS PAST 8 WEEKS?
WHEN CAN THE CHICKS MOVE OUT TO THE UNHEATED BARN?

When we had the other chicks in the fall we kept them in the barn in a small quarantine with a chicken wire door & a lot of hay. Then we let them out to run around the barn with the door shut, then in & outside periodically now we just leave the barn door open.

Yes, if mama is taking care of the babies, they will go under her for warmth when they need to. If you can put her in a brooder cage away from other chickens for the first few days, that will help protect them all from the rest of the flock. Every chicken is different though - some will care for babies for months, others will send them on their way after a few weeks.

like right now while they're unhatched?
No wait till they hatch if u move them now the hen may reject the eggs wait 2 days after the hatch date and move them like I said block the entrance of the nest the hens are in the day before they are due to hatch to keep any babies from falling out and the hen getting off the nest to keep those babies warm

Welcome to BYC!