Best beginner bator $200 or less?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Lonomakana, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Lonomakana

Lonomakana Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2008
    Pa'auhau, Hawaii
    Hi Folks. I'm having trouble getting my tabletops to sit on eggs so I'm resorting to incubating. I only have two of these hens so far, so I don't need a high capacity machine. I've seen Brinsea Eco 20 w/auto turner for $225 (shipping included). Are there other incubators better or the same for less money?

I'm a beginner at this so it needs to be fairly simple. I'm in Hawaii so its pretty humid here with consistent temps from 60-80 (night-day). Thanks for the help.

2. jnjross

jnjross Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2008
    edwards, ms
    folks were getting those brinsea's for 150 last week, don't know the shipping?,
    that or genesis 1588 , the brinsea is hard plastic and the 1588 is foam, eco 20 holds 20-24 i think, and a 1588 with turner 42,

sorry that price was for one week only [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  3. gabrielle1976

gabrielle1976 Overrun With Chickens

Feb 21, 2009
    Columbia river gorge
    Brinesea if its still on sale it was 99 and shipping was like 40 bucks , its easy not to get a turner with it as its easy to turn by moveing the bator.
    Hovabator genisis would be my second choice though Id really want to go with the brinesea if it was me. Good luck

4. old mill poultry

old mill poultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2009
    I think in my opinion is the hovabator genesis 1588. You can get it with a turner for around 160.00. It self regulates itself and keeps a constandt temp of 99.5 degrees. I'm sure brinsea is good, but never had one. The genesis has always given me great hatches.

5. mediazeal

mediazeal Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2009
    I love the Brinsea. Whatever hatch issues I have wont' be caused by the incubator.
    With turner and shipping it will be a little over your described budget I believe.