Best Layout for at 4' x 4' coop

Siv7

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 30, 2012
Hi All,

This is my first attempt at coop building. I'm planning a 4'x4' coop with an external 4' x 8' enclosed run to house 3-4 laying hens. I wanted to see what this great community could come up with. So.... if you had a 4x4 coop how would you layout the interior?

I've included a little prototype rendering of my design so far. I'm currently thinking of keeping the laying box inside the coop and i can't decide if I want a side door or a floor door. Also I am currently leaning toward doing the deep litter method.

Thanks in advance for the help!

This is a cool design. We currently have two coops. The first one was the first we'd ever built (4x3) and the second is larger (4x6) because we're adding two more girls AND this version corrects things that didn't work in the first coop. One of my biggest complaints about my 1st coop is that it's only 1.5ft off the ground and kills my back to clean it. The 2nd coop (still waiting to paint it - weather is not cooperating) is a higher up so it shouldn't be so bad on my back. The 1st coop also has the nest boxes inside and I really don't like it. Mainly because of the height of the coop. The 2nd coop has outside access to the boxes and I can't wait to use it. Personally, if I were you, I'd make an outside access to the nest boxes. That give you more interior room in case chicken math strikes.

In that drawing, the ramp from the pop door to the ground looks pretty steep. Honestly, I'd make the run the entire height of the small section on top there. That just gives your chickens a little more room to get out of the pop door. And I think you will find that you will want to be in the run with and it's a killer to have to say bent down in a small run. At least that's what happened with our first set up. The 2nd set up will be an open air (per hubby) to start but I have some ideas about covering it later in the year. It's a work in progress.