Best tips for incubation. Getting started.

mattman1978

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 27, 2013
These are the best tips I have for ANYONE who is incubating. I haven't been doing it for years, but I am a Chemist and Chemical Engineer. Temperature controls and measurement is something I do every day. Good luck and enjoy!

Incubation tips...

First, the single most important factor in incubation is Temperature. It must be set to 99.5 for most eggs and it must remain stable throughout the incubation cycle across the entire incubator (all eggs should be the same temp). Eggs are really not affected much if you open it once a day for a short time, but large fluctuations in temperature over the course of the entire incubation cycle can result in many not hatching and those that do hatch may be deformed or have health problems. A thermometer probably came with your incubator, if you look, I'm pretty certain that there is a statement in the instructions or on the thermometer itself that states it is not factory calibrated or that you need to calibrate it. Many buy digital cooking thermometers or they buy thermometers intended for use outdoors. Problem is, NONE of them are factory calibrated, while some will be will be dead on, most will be off by some amount (may be more than 1 degree off).
You MUST use a factory-calibrated thermometer if you want the best results. As a Chemist and Engineer, I can tell you, we pay $100 or more for a basic calibrated thermometer at work. For incubation, I have found a trick that will get you the accuracy you need at home for very little costs. The BEST thing to use is a simple digital PHARMACY Thermometer, the kind you check fever with. They are factory calibrated! Otherwise, they would be worthless! I paid less than $5 for the ones we use. Get one, check it on yourself (you should get 99.5) and then install it in your incubator where you can leave it all the time. Hit the button and test the temp a few times a day.