Bloody Back, Missing Feathers, and Now Other Hends Missing Feathers

puisheb

Chirping
Dec 28, 2020
Nunn, Colorado
Hi All

First & most important, this website's participants are godsends. Thank you for sharing your knowledge! I did a search through the forums and I believe that my rooster is likely the culprit. However, as I am new at having chickens, I wanted to reach out to the hive mind and see what you think of what I plan to do about this.

Background: I have 9 hens & 1 rooster, all Buff Orpingtons, which I picked up as chicks on 5/14/21. They live in a 12x12 insulated coop, with 3 windows for light & ventilation vents. The outdoor run is not yet completed (a variety of family medical emergencies followed by weather has delayed us significantly). They have 3 feed tubes (I wanted to limit resource guarding & fighting). When I bring in mealworms, sunflower seeds, crack, etc, I divide it into 3 different spots, again in an attempt to allow everyone to eat peacefully. I try to put something interesting for them to eat that is different once a week. They have a large waterer and nesting boxes – though I find that their favorite nesting spots are under the boxes and next to the feed bin. I see that at night, while they have a roosting bar that extends across the coop, thus it is 12 feet long – they generally all like to bunch up next to each other. I do not watch them throughout the day, as I am in and out for my work.

Last Sat (2/7/22), I walked into the coop to find one of my hens with a bloody, featherless back area. I included pictures in this post.
bloody hen.jpg