Blue Eared Pheasant help

VERN-O

Hatching
9 Years
Aug 10, 2010
I'm still new to this so, so bare with me. I'm considering raising BEPs and am looking for anyone who has experience with raising them and where I might be able to get some chicks in the Northeast (I'm in the upstate NY area).....thanks in advance

There are lots of breeders up your way. They are digging machines too by the way.
They will handle your winters well too.
Obviously, both sexes are identical in all eared colors.
I would suggest you subscribe to the Gamebird Breeders Gazette.
It's loaded with articles on these types of birds, and has 12-14 pages of classified ads every issue.
There is also the A.P.W.S., American Pheasant and Waterfowl Society magazine, same deal with it. These two are where most all breeders advertise their birds.
There is also the Georgia Gamebird Breeders Association, there are members in it from all over the country.
They vary in price breeder to breeder, seen them recently from $70- $150 for yearlings, $90-$100 is about average, they are the cheapest of the eared pheasants, then white, the brown.

Lots of cover and perches in the aviary are recommended as they males at time can be aggressive to their hens, usually best kept only in pairs too from my experiences.

Got any specific questions on them?

WOW perfect......I've done some online research on raising them, caring, disease, and housing. You've been a huge help. I'll look into the suggested reading materilas. Then I'll work on tracking down the actual birds. I wanted to have a place to gather info from people who raise them and not neccessarily raise them to sell them. Again thanks for the info.

yep, only problem with that forum is, 90 +% of them on there are just a bunch of jerks, who like to tell you, you dont know enough to keep this and that.
I use to be on there but got tired of all the fighting over stupid stuff , and with Dan doing nothing to moderate them, they act like a bunch of over grown kids...