Brahmas with Pekins ?????

justcraig

Hatching
11 Years
Aug 10, 2008
Essex, England
Hello everyone,

I hope that you may be able to help me out. Im quite new to keeping chickens - In fact Ive just reached my first month anniversary !!!

I have a bit of a problem. My flock consists of 2 brahmas, 1 hybrid (an Amber Comet) and 2 Pekin Bantam's.
All of these birds are young - approach 10 - 15 weeks old.

I was told to initially keep the Pekins seperate as they were particularly small when I picked them up. I have a run approx 50 ft square with a shed converted as a hen house. The pekins were set up in a rabbit run inside the main run so that they mixed with the larger birds.

this weekend I have attemptedto mix them properly. I did everything right (I think !!) - I popped the little 'uns into the hen house in the dead of night so that they all woke up together. They took a couple of pecks in the morning when I let them out but nothing that looked serious. Gradually it all settled down, however this evening (their second evening together) I noticed that they were being picked on a lot more. I followed quietly into the hen house and saw them being pecked a fair bit on the perches and so I have taken them out and put them back in their seperate area again.

I was advised that despite the size difference, these birds would all get along. The hybrid and brahmas occasionally square up to each other but nothing actually 'kicks off'. It's the poor old Pekins that seem to get into trouble.

Does anyone have any advise thatI could use of are these bird never going to get along due their size differences ???

Thank you very much for your help !!!

Best regards
Craig

Craig - Welcome to BYC! It does sound like you did things "right", that just doesn't always mean it will work out OR that it will work out quickly with no issues.