Brand new flock....help!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dwegg, Nov 11, 2009.

1. dwegg

dwegg Chillin' With My Peeps

Ok...I am BRAND new to this. Just got my girls last Saturday and I have a million questions but will filter them to my most pressing for now.

Background...I got my first girl from a chicken swap last Sat. (4mth Blue Orpington) who is THE sweetest girl (Sally:love) - eats out of my hand, lets me pat her and will jump up for a cuddle already from day 1. You can tell she was hand raised and cared for.
    I then stopped at a great little farm and bought my other 4 girls (ameracuna 5mths, ameracuna 15mths, buff orpington 13mths, SLW 13mths) all great looking girls. But they are scared of me but I have been handling them all and patting them most days to try and get them used to me (except the SLW - she is very scared of me and sort of scares me a little!).
    They are all new to the coop and all new to each other. Came from different pens.

Questions:

1. The Buff Orpington fought and pecks at everyone (yes pecking order and all that, but she still is not nice to the others) I know it has not even been a week but every night when I put them to bed she is sitting by herself on the perch, the other three large girls sit together on top of the nesting boxes and my sweet Sally (the youngest cant get up on the nesting boxes) takes her bed in one of the nesting boxes.
    I am worried that she is not getting along with the others and that the others are scared of her. Could she stress the others out? So much that they would not start laying in their new home? I am already thinking that if things don't improve I might have to get rid of her!