bringing hens home

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by bradw, Mar 31, 2009.

1. bradw

bradw New Egg

Mar 19, 2009
    Southern California
    Greetings All.

The coop should be done tomorrow and we will be bringing the red star hens home saturday. They are currently laying at their current location. Will they stop laying for a time coming to a new home?

If the hens lay during the day when I am at work are they still good to eat if I cant collect them till I get home?

thanks

Brad

Last edited: Mar 31, 2009
  2. bethandjoeync

bethandjoeync Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Iron Station, NC
    I am very new to this as well, but we just brought home some laying hens (between 7-9 months old) on friday, and we have had 3 eggs total. I think the stress of moving may slow them down until they figure out that it is a safe environment for them to lay and they are comfortable enough to do so. we were told it could be 2-4 weeks until they are on a predictable schedule of laying. but right now they are getting used to being around each other because they were not in the same runs at the place we purchased them. and they have to establish the pecking order, and who will be the boss. I can't wait until I go out there everyday and have eggs.

3. HidingInTheHenHouse

HidingInTheHenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2008
    Indianapolis
    They will probably slow down or stop laying for a bit after you get them home.

Yes, eggs that are not collected until the end of the day should be fine for eating. I keep my eggs in a basket on the counter, and only refrigerate if I have to wash any or if they are cracked. I've never had a bad one yet.

4. vermontgal

vermontgal Chillin' With My Peeps