Brooder & Chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ktown55, Dec 8, 2009.

1. ktown55

ktown55 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 24, 2009
    East Tenn..
    Hi Everyone, Again I'm New At This And Would Like To Ask Something About The Brooder..I Have A Good Size Rabbit Cage, I'm Going To Try & Use For My Brooder, What I Need To know Is What Do I Put Down In The Bottem Of Cage When I First Go To Put The Chicks In It? I Keep Seeing Something About Wet Paper Towels? What Is that About? And When Do I Start Feeding Them The Chick Feed For the First Time? And One More thing,Can I Get By With A 75w light bulb To Heat The Chicks? There going To Be In doors For Awhile ,Because Of the Weather...Brrrrrrrr, Cold !! Thanks For Your Help.....[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 8, 2009
  2. faykokoWV

faykokoWV Mrs Fancy Plants

Nov 4, 2008
    Cross Lanes, WV
    Bottom of the cage put a layer of shavings and then put dry paper towels on top. The paper towel keep the little bird brains from trying to eat the shavings. do not use newspaper as it becomes slick and can cause spradle leg.
    Are you hatching or getting through the mail?

75 watt light should be ok, just make sure its close enough. I always go by if they're huddling- more heat, if they are running away from the light less. If they are right in the middle I got it right.

Don't put them outside until they are fully feathered.

3. ThePamperedPullet

ThePamperedPullet Chillin' With My Peeps