Brooder Questions

Morgan7782

Dense Egg Goo
9 Years
Mar 22, 2010
Sacramento CA
I have a couple brooder questions.

A.) How much space would 15 standard size chicks need in a brooder from hatch to 7-8 weeks old?

B.) Is it possible to brood outdoors? Provided you have a SAFE predator proof enclosure and heat light as needed.

Thanks all!

Well I'm pretty new to this, but from what I've gathered:

A) A small space will work for your chickies while they are under two weeks old. I find that at 2 weeks they really start to get big and really active. I put my 3 chicks in a large dog kennel, but definitely would not leave them in there for 7-8 weeks, they would take up the whole kennel. Eight week old chickens are almost full grown, so I would expect to need at least a square foot per bird.

B) I think the main thing (besides predators) is the heat issue. As long as you can keep the temp warm on the babies and the wind off they should be okay.

Why would you need to keep your chicks in a brooder for 8 weeks if you are planning on doing the brooder outside?? I would think that you would just be able to transfer them to a coop at about 5 weeks.

I have some friends who want me to brood some chicks for them, they are unable to do it themselves, but want to be involved and play with them as chicks and such. I told them there are older pullets available for sale, but they want to be as involved as they can without actually brooding the chicks themselves.

I need an outside brooder because I do not have an inside area I am able to use as a brooder room. I have a coop that is totally draft proof, just have to figure out how to hang the heat light out there. I wish there were safer means to heat besides electricity lol.

The brooder sizes I have are 2ft x 4ft or 3ft x 6ft. I could also tell my friends I can only brood 10 at one time, rather then the originally planned 15.

Last edited: