Broody on Day 26 - Can She Continue?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by thailand, Apr 12, 2012.

1. thailand

thailand Chillin' With My Peeps

I have a broody sitting on eggs at Day 26. Clearly the eggs are not going to hatch. She is sitting very determindly, only rarely comes off the nest, but is still in excellent health. (I've recently had 3 hens go broody at the same time. Out of a total of 15 eggs, only 3 hatched but they were all born dead). This is my first time trying to hatch eggs, so please excuse my newbie question. Is is cruel to give her a new batch of eggs now and have her sitting for another 20 days? I have another hen going through a molt but she laid an egg yesterday. I know that this hen's eggs are fertile. It is not possible to give my broody day old chicks. I've tried to source some but there are none available.

Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    ~Angela

2. Madam Hens

Madam Hens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 5, 2010
    Lexington, KY
    I would remove the eggs and chase her off the nest. My fear in putting another clutch of eggs under her is that sometime before the 21 day mark she will have had it with no chicks. Make sure that the hen can get to water to splash on her chest feathers. It is imperative for the eggs to have proper humidity for them to successfully hatch. My silkie hens will wet themselves down each morning when they come off the nest to eat. They then go back in and turn the eggs. I have had 100 percent hatch rate with my silkie hens.

3. thailand

thailand Chillin' With My Peeps

Thanks Madam Hens for your reply :)