Bumblefoot disease and need help!!

Becki78

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 10, 2013
I am a new chicken owner as of just Feb. this year. I have six chickens, one black, three brown and two white. The two white ones who happen to be the smallest of the bunch have bumblefoot and I am having a heck of time treating it. Here is a run down of treatment so far. Since I am new at this I decided to so surgery only with the worst foot to start with.

Miss Pinky -

Performed surgery on right foot, was a success. I squeezed out one large infection "curd", I manipulated the foot and there were no other lumps, just appeared swollen. I was not successful in squeezing out any puss or anything. I bandaged up the foot after applying neosporin (kind without pain relief). I kept her in a dog crate for three days with daily cleaning/re-wraps along with 15 minute epson salt soaks. She appeared normal, drank plenty of fluids but only eat about 1.5 cups of feed during that time. Legs feels warmer than other side.
Her left foot that has a small infection (surgery was not performed) I performed daily epson salt soaks and swelling decreased but lump and scab still present.

Miss B. -

I have given her daily epson salt soaks for past two days, swelling has decreased but lump and scab still present.

I went to local feed store and bought PCN. I have attempted to give each girl .2cc injections with 22 gauge needle but am having a heck of time getting the medicine to inject once inserted in what I believe is their breast muscle. Note both girls are very skinny and not very meaty. When I feel for muscle all I really feel is bone.

They both act like nothing is wrong and I hate to put them down. Any ideas what I am doing wrong? I am not squimish is try anything and work in the medical field and know how to draw blood and give injections but am not familiar with the chicken anatomy and these injections are being a pain in my butt!