Bunnies....doing "the deed"

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by amynbrent, Mar 7, 2012.

1. amynbrent

amynbrent Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Dryden, MI
    My two bunnies will be 5 weeks this Saturday. They are still with the mother. I went to clean cage today and saw my little one doing the other little one. I'm new to rabbits since Christmas so other than reaseaching some I'm learning as I go. I read not to take them away from mom until 8 weeks. Can they actually mate this young? Of our other three rabbits, I now know who our boys is so he is in his own hutch. My two other girls are in their own also...both preg. I dont want any more babies after these are born. I got lucky my one only had two and I have homes for them. Who knows how many the other two will have, they had 15 between the two of them before....when I had no clue they were preg and they all died. However I didnt find them until they were with the male for a couple days and of course that is all it took for them to get preg again. So after this batch...NO MORE!!! Sorry for rambling....[​IMG] so basically my question is....are the babies to young to mate? Are they just doing what rabbits do? Can they be seperated at six weeks like some books say? They are eating food and drinking water on their own.

Thanks!

2. SDragon

SDragon Out Of The Brooder

Jan 7, 2012
    I am not quite sure. I have rabbits, but have never had them breed, maybe someday in the future. I am not sure, but I believe that you can take them away from the mother at four weeks. When you do \seperate them yu put the boys and girls into different cages. I have gotten a a baby when it was 6 weeks. I dont believe they can breed at that young. I dont think that your babies will be having any babies of their own, but again I am no expert. Someone who is more knowledgable than me will come along soon to help you out. Sorry I couldnt be of more help.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  3. bargain