Can an Old English Bantam fertilize my larger hens?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by chickzillafarms, May 17, 2011.

1. chickzillafarms

chickzillafarms New Egg

May 17, 2011
    Hello All,

Been reading for a while now, as a novice I love this web site, but I seem to have found a question that I can't find and answer to with the search feature.

I have a beautiful Splash Old English rooster (at least that what we think he is) with a group of larger hens. Originally we got what we had hoped for was a hen and roo to breed, but have two Old English roos... He takes really good care of the hens, much better than my other lazy roo. The hens are australorp, rhode island red, ameraucanas, and a black and a red sexlink, and silver laced wyandottes. I know he is trying hard to mate with these birds that are easily 3 times his size, my question is can he? Is it of course he can, but with limited sucess? Or should I expect fetilized eggs all the time? Thanks in advance.

2. Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up Count your many blessings...

Mar 12, 2008
    Loxahatchee, Florida
    All a rooster needs to do is complete the "cloacal kiss" in order to transact business with a hen. Even with well-matched chickens the act is very brief, but seemingly effective. If your little roo is able to bend his back end and get his cloaca to touch, even briefly, the uplifted cloaca of any agreeable large hen, it's likely that he'll have fertilized her eggs. You can check the eggs you crack to eat and see if there is a bull's eye instead of a dot on the yolk.

I've had chicks hatch that I could tell were a result of a bantam roo over a large hen.