can anyone tell me when chickens start to lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ckfrm, Sep 10, 2011.

1. ckfrm

ckfrm New Egg

Aug 2, 2011
    I have three girls that are 6 1/2 months old. I went to my local feed store and they told me they won't begin to lay until 1 year old. I am new to chickens, but every book I've read says otherwise. They also told me they won't lay this year at all becauseof the shortening of days. Told me not to expect any eggs til next spring. Is this crazy? Please advise. BTW I am in Springfield Mo. So I know it will be cool soon and I suppose that will affect laying also? Thanks!

2. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX
    I dont know of any breed that takes a whole year to start laying. The larger breeds often do take more than 6 months to start laying but I'd start to look for red combs and squatting pretty soon.

It does depend somewhat on breed. Production hens start laying around 4 months. My Orps start around 6-7 months. I have a Dark Cornish that is 5 months old and just started laying.

Edit: The cool doesn't affect laying but day length does. Most breeds don't lay well during the winter but some, like Orpingtons, lay just as well no matter day length.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  3. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    a year? What kind of hens do you have? Mine started at 20 weeks, and just yesterday I got one from a Gold Comet, she is now 23 weeks...some times these stores have no idea...tell what you have, and post some pics if you can.

Its how many hours of daylight you get, not the temp...unless it is VERY hot like this past summer, that will stress them out and they won't lay as well

4. Mama duck 8

Mama duck 8 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Your girls should start laying soon or in about 2 more months.

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas