can I move baby chicks between 2 brooders

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Lisa202, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Lisa202

Lisa202 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 20, 2010
    Long Island NY
    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to all this and am going to be picking up my chicks the week of sept 13th. (I can't wait!!!) I know that i will have to check on the chicks frequently (some say 5 times a day, others say every hour). So since I work from 9-5, I was thinking of having a similar brooder set up at work, at least for the first few weeks, so that I can be with them. My question is this...is it ok to transfer them back and forth every day? I would put them in an enclosed box, heat up my car beforehand, and the ride is only about 7 minutes. I don't want them to be stressed, so I don't know if this is ok or risky.

thanks!

2. Bat Cave Silkies

Bat Cave Silkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2010
    Bat Cave, NC
    Why must the chicks be checked every hour? How old are these chicks going to be when you get them?

I can't count how many eggs I've hatched, so I don't know how many chicks I've raised, but I've never checked them every hour....

If I had a sick chick or one that wasn't as vigorous as these others, I would relocate it to a smaller brooder (always with a buddy), but even then I didn't check hourly.

My brooders are in my hatchery, a.k.a. diningroom; once I give them fresh food and water in the AM, and visually check all the chicks out, I go on about my business. It may be 8 hours before I see them again.

I believe that boxing & transporting the chicks twice a day would be VERY stressful too them, and a stressed bird is much more prone to illness. They really will be alright at home everyday [​IMG]

3. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales