Can I not do it the old fashioned way?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tatiana916, Oct 28, 2011.

1. tatiana916

tatiana916 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 24, 2011
    I'm very new to chicken keeping and in the spring I would like my hens to produce offspring. After looking into it I found a whole new world of buying in fertile eggs and incubators etc.
    I kind of had a romantic idea of seeing my hens sitting on their eggs patiently waiting for them to hatch. Is this still a viable way of producing chicks or does it not produce many offspring? I'm not against the idea of using technology such as incubators I was just wondering whether the old fashioned way is still plausible.

2. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

Of course it is!

If you have a broody-type hen that is.. What kind of chickens do you have? I know polish rarely go broody..

You can try for sure. Nothing wrong with trying!

3. Sjisty

Sjisty Scribe of Brahmalot

May 18, 2009
    Brooksville
    I love watching my hens with their babies! Whenever I have a broody I will give her eggs to hatch.

4. danischi24

danischi24 Loves naked pets

Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
    Not only is it plausible, it's cheaper & just as, if not more effective than an incubator. However, for this you need a few things like a rooster with your girls or buying fertile eggs. You also need a broody hen & unfortunately, they don't go broody on command & will only hatch eggs when they are broody. People incubate eggs for many reasons such as: wanting a different breed to what they have, hatching large numbers etc.

5. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

Silkies and OEGB are really good broody hens from what I've read. So are cochins, and they cover a large amount of eggs! Something to think about [​IMG]

Wouldn't want to have my hen hatching a clutch of chicks during the winter though.. Especially here in the harsh winters.. Need my hens to use their energy to keep themselves warm!

6. tatiana916