1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Can I Use Chicken Coop Hay/Poop in my Garden?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by Kentuckyrain, Apr 12, 2016.

1. Kentuckyrain

Kentuckyrain Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2015
    Northern Michigan
    So last winter for heating the chicken coop I did the Deep Layer whatever it's called using pile layered on pile layered on pile of hay/straw. It is my first time doing this and it worked great, no odor, dry inside the coop, etc.

Anyhow, Spring is coming, slowly coming,, how can I use this hay/straw/chicken poop in my garden or how do I make black gold dirt with it?

2. chicklover 1998

chicklover 1998 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2015
    Oskaloosa,Ia
    I would suggest composting first because of the high nitrogen content.

1 person likes this.
  3. eagrbeavr

eagrbeavr Chillin' With My Peeps

Put it on the garden in the Fall and let it soak all winter. The ammonia will evaporate over time

2 people like this.
  4. Kentuckyrain

Jun 4, 2015
    Northern Michigan
    Will do, thank u!

5. BertandMary

BertandMary Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2013
    Fayetteville, NC
    Hot compost it over the summer before applying this fall or you will be seeding your garden with hay.

1 person likes this.
  6. Kentuckyrain

Jun 4, 2015
    Northern Michigan
    Oh, thank u very much!

7. eagrbeavr

eagrbeavr Chillin' With My Peeps